The Capitol Beat: September 4, 2018

September 5, 2018

Update on 2018 Gubernatorial, CT General Assembly Races

Oz Griebel, former Republican gubernatorial candidate from Simsbury and regional Hartford business leader, and Democratic lawyer Monte Frank of Newtown, have petitioned and secured the requisite number of signatures of CT voters to be placed on the statewide ballot in November’s general election.

The Griebel-Frank ticket will not appear on the Independent Party’s line on the ballot, however. Instead, the unaffiliated, bipartisan team will be listed simply as “Griebel Frank for CT.” This is because the Independent Party caucus cross-endorsed Republican gubernatorial nominee Bob Stefanowski and the rest of the GOP candidates for statewide constitutional offices at its August 26th convention. The Independent endorsement gives Stefanowski two lines at the top of the ballot.

Meanwhile, the picture of who will be the candidates for open seats in the House and Senate races in the November general election was decided by voters at the August 14th primary. Following are the results:

Senate Open Seats with 2018 Candidates:

DistrictOutgoing IncumbentTownsDemocratic CandidateRepublican Candidate
9thSenator Paul Doyle (D)Cromwell, Middletown, Newington, Rocky Hill and WethersfieldRep. Matt LesserEd Charamut
12thSenator Ted Kennedy, Jr. (D)Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison and North BranfordChristine CohenAdam Greenberg
14thSenator Gayle Slossberg (D)Milford, Orange, West Haven and WoodbridgeJames MaroneyRep. Pam Staneski
16thSenator Joe Markley (R)Cheshire, Prospect, Southington, Waterbury and WolcottVickie NardelloRep. Rob Sampson
23rdSenator Ed Gomes (D)Bridgeport and StratfordDennis BradleyJohn Rodriguez
33rdSenator Art Linares (R)Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and WestbrookNorman NeedlemanRep. Melissa Ziobron
35thSenator Tony Guglielmo (R)Ashford, Chapin, Coventry, Eastford, Ellington, Hampton, Pomfret, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Willington and WoodstockJohn PerrierDan Champagne

House Open Seats with 2018 Candidates:

DistrictOutgoing IncumbentTown(s)Democratic CandidateRepublican Candidate
12thRep. Kelly Juleson-Scopino (D)ManchesterGeoff LuxenbergThomas Tierney
13thRep. Mark Tweedie (R)Glastonbury and ManchesterJason DoucetteJennifer Fiereck
17thRep. Tim LeGeyt (R)Avon and CantonEleni Kavros DegrawLeslee Hill
29thRep. Antonio Guerrera (D)Newington, Rocky Hill and WethersfieldKerry Szeps WoodAndrew Lanciotto
31stRep. Prasad Srinivasan (R)GlastonburyJill BarryLillian Tanski
34thRep. Melissa Ziobron (R)Colchester, East Haddam and East HamptonTheresa GovertIrene Haines
43rdRep. Diana Urban (D)North Stonington and StoningtonKate RotellaShawn Mastroianni
45thRep. Kevin Skulczyck (R)Griswold, Lisbon, Plainfield, Sterling and VoluntownSteven MikutelBrian Lanoue
51stRep. Danny Rovero (D)Killingly, Putnam and ThompsonLarry Giroh, Jr.Ricky Hayes
73rdRep. Jeffery Berger (D)WaterburyRonald NapoliSteven Giacomi
80thRep. Rob Sampson (R)Southington and WolcottDavid BorzellinoGale Mastrofrancesco
100thRep. Matt Lesser (D)MiddletownQuentin PhippsAnthony Gennaro
102ndRep. Lonnie Reed (D)BranfordRobin ComeyRobert Imperato
104thRep. Linda Gentile (D)Ansonia and DerbyKara RochelleJoseph Jaumann
119thRep. Pam Staneski (R)Milford and OrangeEllen BeattyKathy Kennedy
140thRep. Bruce Morris (D)NorwalkTravis SimmsJohn Flynn
147thRep. William Tong (D)Darien and StamfordMatt BlumenthalAnzelmo Graziosi

Finally, as the summer cools down and the campaigns heat up, we will keep you apprised of any new developments. Meantime, the following is a schedule of the five gubernatorial debates that have been scheduled to date in which Stefanowski and Lamont (and perhaps Oz Griebel, but that has not been confirmed) will participate:

  • Sept. 12 sponsored by the New London Day and WTNH.
  • Sept. 17 sponsored by the CT Realtors.
  • Sept. 26 sponsored by the University of Connecticut and WFSB.
  • Oct. 18 hosted by the Connecticut Association of Broadcasters.
  • Oct. 30 sponsored by the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities.

In the news